top of page
Survive and Save

Candidates start at Bronze level in most cases, though with sufficient skill and experience they may start at Silver level. Once a Bronze award has been achieved, a candidate can move on to Silver in the same area, or try the other awards at the same level. Similarly, candidates can progress into the Gold awards. If a candidate achieves Gold awards in three of the four different Lifesaving areas within a 24 month period, then they are automatically awarded the Distinction.

ILSC award process

The Survive and Save Programme is for children aged 12 and over. The awards are challenging but fun to complete. This programme teaches the theory and practical skills needed for self-rescue & survival, rescue, lifesaving sport & fitness, life support and first aid, as well as providing a comprehensive understanding of water hazards, drowning and emergency management. 

In addition, the Survive & Save programme gives great flexibility to develop and apply skills in three areas of lifesaving: pool, sea and sport. The beach award will be completed at Felixstowe.

There are three levels: bronze, silver and gold, with awards available in each of the lifesaving skills areas. All candidates must have a current Life Support award at the time of assessment and must pass a Core Element test at each level before undertaking an award at that level. Candidates who hold a higher Core Element can also be assessed for lower awards.

Bronze Awards

  • Prerequisite: Bronze Core

  • Bronze Medallion Lifesaving award

  • Bronze Beach Lifesaving award

  • Bronze Sport Lifesaving award

Silver Awards

  • Prerequisite: Silver Core

  • Silver Medallion Lifesaving award

  • Silver Beach Lifesaving award

  • Silver Sport Lifesaving award

Gold Awards

  • Prerequisite: Gold Core

  • Gold Medallion Lifesaving award

  • Gold Beach Lifesaving award

  • Gold Sport Lifesaving award


bottom of page